2022 Chemistry Olympiad

Every spring, high school students in the Georgia Local Section participate in the United States National Chemistry Olympiad (USNCO) competition. The program is intended to encourage American youth to achieve excellence in chemistry and is a multi-tiered process with competitions at the local, national and international level. More information is available at the USNCO website.

Online registration for the 2022 Georgia Chemistry Olympiad competition is now open and will be available until 5 pm on Friday, January 21, 2022. Please use this link to register your interest. 

2021 Senior Awardees

Thank you for your many years of invaluable contribution to Chemistry

On December 4, 2021 at Kennesaw State University,  the ACS Georgia Section honored its senior members for their many years of invaluable contribution and service to the American Chemical Society. Those that attended were able to share their career highlights and what a career in Chemistry has meant to them. It is important to remember that yesterday’s discoveries and breakthroughs contribute to the deeper understanding and accomplishments of today!

50 Years Member60 Years Member70 Years Member
Dr. Dabney White Dixon
Prof. Craig Hill
Dr. James Stewart Holler
Dr. Philip Terry Holt
Prof. Lanny Steven Liebeskind
Dr. Ming Chang Lin
Mr. Robert Alan Paarlberg
Dr. Edward Michael Perdue
Dr. James Leslie Reed
Mr. Joseph Stoner
Mr. Leslie Glen Sudbury
Mr. H Richard Adams
Dr. Gloria Anderson
Dr. David Withers Boykin, Jr.
Mr. Chasen Carl Ging
Dr. Warren Lanier Jr
Mr. Don Randolph
Mr. Douglas Rumaner
Mr. Gary W Snow
Dr. Erling Grovenstein Jr.
Dr. Alfred Schneider
Mr. Ralph Wedd
Dr. Ying Wu

Officer Election Results

Congratulations to the newly elected officers of the ACS Georgia Section! These officer terms will begin January 1, 2022. Chair-Elect will serve in the chair succession (Chair-Elect, Chair, Past-Chair) for 3 years with other terms as noted.

Chair-Elect: Dr. Nichole Powell (2022-24)

Member-at-Large: Dr. Heather Abbott-Lyon (2022-23)

Treasurer: Dr. Ajay Mallia (2022-23)

Councilor: Mr. Joe Stoner (2022-24)

Councilor: Dr. Jason Lye (2022-24)

Alternate Councilor: Ms. Jahari Soward (2022-24)

Alternate Councilor: Dr. Mark Mitchell (2022-24)