Awards and Honors

The Georgia Section offers several awards and nominates member volunteers for others sponsored by the national ACS. The Georgia Section’s highest honor is the Charles H. Herty Medal.

The ACS also provides ChemLuminary Awards to local sections.

Georgia Section Outstanding Service Award

These awardees are selected by the Executive Board to recognize outstanding service to the Georgia Section.

2021: Ms. Vernita Lockhart (The Coca-Cola Company, retired)
2019: Dr. Heather Abbott-Lyon (Kennesaw State University)
2016: Mr. John Faes (US Army Crime Lab, retired)
2015: Ms. Deanna Morrow Hall (Corporate Information Resources, Inc.)
2012: Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez (Georgia Tech)
2011: Dr. Deborah Sauder (Georgia Gwinnett College)
2010: Ms. Holly Davis (The Coca-Cola Company), Dr. Jennifer Powers (Kennesaw State University), Mr. Terry Say, and Mr. Joe Stoner 
2008: Dr. David Sherrill (Georgia Tech) and Dr. David Gottfried (Georgia Tech) 
2006: Dr. Don Hicks (Georgia State, retired)
2005: Mr. Matthias Pohl (Pohl Advisory Group) and Dr. Angus Wilkinson (Georgia Tech) 
2004: Dr. Tom Netzel (Georgia State), Dr. David Boykin (Georgia State), Dr. Jim Powers (Georgia Tech), and Dr. J. Aaron Bertrand (Georgia Tech) 
2000: Dr. Margaret Venable, Chad Sines, Dr. Cynthia Spencer, Dr. Leon Venable
1999: Dr. Lissa Dulany
1998: Dr. Don Hicks (Georgia State)
1989: Raymond D. (Kip) Kimbrough (Kimbrough & Associates, Inc)
1975: Elise Shover (American Bakeries)
1972: Preston Williams (Coca Cola Co.)

Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year

The ACS Committee on Community Activities (CCA) sponsors the Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year award to recognize the immeasurable outreach efforts made by local section volunteers. Each local section can nominate one volunteer for each annual award.

2020: Dr. Ajay Mallia (Georgia Gwinnett College) – National Award Winner
2019: Ms. Holly Davis (Abbott)
2018: Dr. David Gottfried (Georgia Tech)
2017: Dr. David Sherrill (Georgia Tech)
2016: Dr. Heather Abbott-Lyon (Kennesaw State University)
2015: Ms. Linda Marquez
2014: Dr. Mark Mitchell (Kennesaw State University)

Minority Affairs Committee Awards

The Minority Affairs Committee (MAC) of the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society offers two awards for high school students.

The Percy Julian Award is given to two High School Seniors (one male and one female) in recognition of scholastic achievement and leadership ability. Each recipient receives a book scholarship and a one-­year (student) membership in ACS.

The St. Elmo Brady Award is given to two High School Seniors (one male and one female) in recognition of the goal of becoming a first-generation college student, their scholastic journey, personal integrity, and perseverance. The recipients receive a book scholarship and a one-year (student) membership in ACS.

Percy Julian Award Winners

2021: Bethani Thomas (Decatur High School), Xavier University, Sociology/Pre-Med and Kelley Collier IV (Westlake High School), Georgia Institute of Technology, Computer Science

2020: Arriel Barganier (Lovejoy High School), Howard University, Mechanical Engineering and John Atkinson (Centennial High School), University of Georgia, Biology

2019: Celine Akande (Fayette County High School), Georgia Tech, Biology and Jayden Kimbro (Stockbridge High School), Georgia Tech, Biology

2018: Camille Jones (Arabia Mountain High School), University of Georgia, Chemistry/Biology and Ronald Baker (East Coweta High School), Clark Atlanta Univ., Sports Medicine

2017: Jordan Purcell (Arabia Mountain High School), Vanderbilt University, Neuroscience (Psychology minor) and Marlon Greene (Stephenson High School), University of Michigan, Electrical Engineering

2016: Adenike Olagbegi (Arabia Mountain High School), Emory University, Biochemistry and Ryan Polk (Dunwoody High School), MIT, Biology

2015: Mauranda Upchurch (Arabia Mountain High School), Stanford University, Human Biology and Keith Strozier (Arabia Mountain High School), Morehouse College, Chemical Engineering

2014: Kayla Turner (Arabia Mountain High School), Tuskegee University, Chemical Engineering

2013: Kiran Chaudhary (Sprayberry High School), Georgia State University, Biology/Pre-Med and Stephanie Lee (University Recipient), Spelman College, Chemistry

2012: Jasmine Bennett (Westlake High School), Fort Valley State Univ., Mathematics/Mechanics and Ayodeji Sotimehim (University Recipient), Emory University, Chemistry

2011: Nichelle Burrison (Woodland High School), Mercer University (Macon), Chemistry/Pre-Pharmacy

St. Elmo Brady Award Winners

2020: Danait Issac (Arabia Mountain High School), Vanderbilt University, Environment & Sustainability

ACS National Awards

Kimberly M. Jackson (Spelman College) received the ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, sponsored by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation.

Joe Stoner received the 2021/2022 Henry Hill Award, sponsored by the ACS Division of Professional Relations. This award “recognizes persons who have served the profession in the area of professional relations in a unique and distinguished manner.”

John Reynolds (Georgia Tech) received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award , sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund.

Elsa Reichmanis (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials, sponsored by DuPont.

Dennis C. Liotta (Emory University) received the Alfred Burger Award in Medicinal Chemistry, sponsored by Gilead Sciences. 

M.G. Finn (Georgia Tech) received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund.

Arthur J. Ragauskas (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award for Affordable Green Chemistry, sponsored by Dow Chemical Co. and endowed by Rohm & Haas. 

Rigoberto Hernandez (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, sponsored by the Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation. 

Younan Xia (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials, sponsored by E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company

Thomas Netzel (Georgia State Univ.) received the Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society, sponsored by the ACS.

ACS Fellows

The ACS Georgia Section is proud of those members who have been selected to be ACS Fellows since the founding of the program in 2009. If you do not see your name, please let us know and we will happily include you in the list below! 

Vernita Lockhart, The Coca-Cola Co. and Agnes Scott College (Section nominee)

Ajay Mallia, Georgia Gwinnett College (Section nominee)

Holly Davis, Abbott (Section nominee)

Gary Schuster, Georgia Institute of Technology

    Terence E. Say, Say Consulting, LLC. (Section nominee)

    Chris W. Jones, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Lanny S. Liebeskind, Emory University

    Vladimir Tsukruk, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology

    Dennis W. Hess, Georgia Institute of Technology

    David S. Gottfried, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)

    Lissa Dulany, Positive Community Association Management (Section nominee)
    Paul L. Houston, Georgia Institute of Technology
    C. David Sherrill, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)
    Joseph P. Stoner, Shimadzu Scientific Instruments (Retired) (Section nominee) 

    Bridgette A. Barry, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Rigoberto Hernandez, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)
    Donald G. Hicks, Georgia State University (Retired) (Section nominee)
    Dennis Liotta, Emory University
    Albert Padwa, Emory University
    Paul H. Wine, Georgia Institute of Technology 

    Jean-Luc E. Brédas, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Huw M.L. Davies, Emory University
    Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Elsa Reichmanis, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Laren Malcolm Tolbert, Georgia Institute of Technology