Awards and Honors

The Georgia Section offers several awards and nominates member volunteers for others sponsored by the national ACS. The Georgia Section’s highest honor is the Charles H. Herty Medal.

The ACS also provides ChemLuminary Awards to local sections.

Georgia Section Outstanding Service Award

These nearly annual awardees are selected by the Executive Board to recognize outstanding service to the Georgia Section.

2019: Dr. Heather Abbott-Lyon (Kennesaw State University)
2016: Mr. John Faes (US Army Crime Lab, retired)
2015: Ms. Deanna Morrow Hall (Corporate Information Resources, Inc.)
2012: Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez (Georgia Tech)
2011: Dr. Deborah Sauder (Georgia Gwinnett College)
2010: Ms. Holly Davis (The Coca-Cola Company), Dr. Jennifer Powers (Kennesaw State University), Mr. Terry Say, and Mr. Joe Stoner 
2008: Dr. David Sherrill (Georgia Tech) and Dr. David Gottfried (Georgia Tech) 
2006: Dr. Don Hicks (Georgia State, retired)
2005: Mr. Matthias Pohl (Pohl Advisory Group) and Dr. Angus Wilkinson (Georgia Tech) 
2004: Dr. Tom Netzel (Georgia State), Dr. David Boykin (Georgia State), Dr. Jim Powers (Georgia Tech), and Dr. J. Aaron Bertrand (Georgia Tech) 
2000: Dr. Margaret Venable, Chad Sines, Dr. Cynthia Spencer, Dr. Leon Venable
1999: Dr. Lissa Dulany
1998: Dr. Don Hicks (Georgia State)
1989: Raymond D. (Kip) Kimbrough (Kimbrough & Associates, Inc)
1975: Elise Shover (American Bakeries)
1972: Preston Williams (Coca Cola Co.)

Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year

The ACS Committee on Community Activities (CCA) sponsors the Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year award to recognize the immeasurable outreach efforts made by local section volunteers. Each local section can nominate one volunteer for each annual award.

2020: Dr. Ajay Mallia (Georgia Gwinnett College) – National Award Winner
2019: Ms. Holly Davis (Abbott)
2018: Dr. David Gottfried (Georgia Tech)
2017: Dr. David Sherrill (Georgia Tech)
2016: Dr. Heather Abbott-Lyon (Kennesaw State University)
2015: Ms. Linda Marquez
2014: Dr. Mark Mitchell (Kennesaw State University)

Minority Affairs Committee Awards

The Minority Affairs Committee (MAC) of the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society offers two awards for high school students.

The Percy Julian Award is given to two High School Seniors (one male and one female) in recognition of scholastic achievement and leadership ability. Each recipient receives a $500 book scholarship and a one-­year (student) membership in ACS.

The St. Elmo Brady Award is given to a High School Senior in recognition of the goal of becoming a first-generation college student, their scholastic journey, personal integrity and perseverance. The recipient will receive a $500 book scholarship and a one-year (student) membership in ACS.

Previous Percy Julian Award Winners

2018: Ms. Camille Jones (Arabia Mountain High School) and Mr. Ronald Baker (East Coweta High School)

2017: Ms. Jordan Purcell (Arabia Mountain High School) and Mr. Marlon Greene(Stephenson High School). Jordan will attend Vanderbilt University and major in Neuroscience (Psychology minor), while Marlon will attend the University of Michigan and major in Electrical Engineering.Marlon Greene (Stephenson High School)

2016: Ms. Adenike Olagbegi (Arabia Mountain High School) and Mr. Ryan Polk (Dunwoody High School). Adenike will attend Emory University and hopes to pursue a career in Biochemistry. Ryan will attend MIT and also plans to study Biochemistry.

2015: Ms. Mauranda Upchurch and Mr. Keith Strozier (Arabia Mountain High School). Mauranda will attend Stanford University and major in Biochemistry while Keith will attend Morehouse College and major in Chemical Engineering.

2014: Ms. Kayla Turner (Arabia Mountain High School). Kayla will attend Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, AL majoring in Chemical Engineering.

ACS National Awards

John Reynolds (Georgia Tech) received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award , sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund.

Elsa Reichmanis (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials, sponsored by DuPont.

Dennis C. Liotta (Emory University) received the Alfred Burger Award in Medicinal Chemistry, sponsored by Gilead Sciences. 

M.G. Finn (Georgia Tech) received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund.

Arthur J. Ragauskas (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award for Affordable Green Chemistry, sponsored by Dow Chemical Co. and endowed by Rohm & Haas. 

Rigoberto Hernandez (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, sponsored by the Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation. 

Younan Xia (Georgia Tech) received the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials, sponsored by E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company

Thomas Netzel (Georgia State Univ.) received the Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society, sponsored by the ACS.

ACS Fellows

The ACS Georgia Section is proud of those members who have been selected to be ACS Fellows since the founding of the program in 2009. If you do not see your name, please let us know and we will happily include you in the list below! 

Ajay Mallia, Georgia Gwinnett College (Section nominee)

Holly Davis, Abbott (Section nominee)

Gary Schuster, Georgia Institute of Technology

    Terence E. Say, Say Consulting, LLC. (Section nominee)

    Chris W. Jones, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Lanny S. Liebeskind, Emory University

    Vladimir Tsukruk, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology

    Dennis W. Hess, Georgia Institute of Technology

    David S. Gottfried, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)

    Lissa Dulany, Positive Community Association Management (Section nominee)
    Paul L. Houston, Georgia Institute of Technology
    C. David Sherrill, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)
    Joseph P. Stoner, Shimadzu Scientific Instruments (Retired) (Section nominee) 

    Bridgette A. Barry, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Rigoberto Hernandez, Georgia Institute of Technology (Section nominee)
    Donald G. Hicks, Georgia State University (Retired) (Section nominee)
    Dennis Liotta, Emory University
    Albert Padwa, Emory University
    Paul H. Wine, Georgia Institute of Technology 

    Jean-Luc E. Brédas, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Huw M.L. Davies, Emory University
    Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Elsa Reichmanis, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Laren Malcolm Tolbert, Georgia Institute of Technology