2022 Herty Medalist

Photo Credit: American Chemical Society

Dr. H. N. Cheng is the recipient of the 2022 Herty Medal as awarded by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society, recognizing outstanding work and service by a chemist in the Southeast. A research chemist at the Southern Regional Research Center of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in New Orleans, Dr. Cheng also served as ACS President in 2021. He has been active in developing green polymer chemistry as a platform to producing eco-friendly and sustainable products, including utilization of agro-based materials, biocatalysis, green processing and methodology development, pulp and paper chemistry, polymerization theory, and polymer NMR. Prior to his election as President, Dr. Cheng served ACS in several leadership positions at the national level, in local sections, and in technical divisions. During his presidential year, he championed the cause of chemistry, emphasizing the importance of innovation, disciplinary growth, sustainability, and digitization. Moreover, he was active in organizing symposia and webinars to benefit ACS members and the chemistry enterprise.

The gold Herty medal will be presented at the 88th Herty Award Celebration in September 2022. Dr. Cheng will also be a keynote speaker at the Annual Herty Medalist Undergraduate Research Symposium (HMURS).